News and Events

OFE News Release

Foundation Announces New Director of Local Education Foundation Outreach

Charlotte Jones, a longtime Norman educator and school administrator, has been named the director of local education foundation outreach for the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. The foundation is a statewide non-profit organization that recognizes and encourages academic excellence in Oklahoma’s public schools.

Jones, who retired in 2004 as principal of Norman’s Madison Elementary School, will head up the foundation’s Local Education Foundation (LEF) Outreach Program, which provides technical assistance and training to local education foundations and to groups seeking to establish foundations in their communities. Through its LEF Outreach Program, the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence has helped build one of the largest and most effective networks of local education foundations in the country, with more than 192 established to date. These citizen-led non-profits raise much-needed private dollars for their school districts and encourage community involvement in local schools.

“We are delighted to announce the addition of Charlotte Jones to our foundation staff,” said Emily Stratton, executive director of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. “ Charlotte was a founding member of the Elk City Educational Foundation and brings a wealth of valuable experience to this post as an award-winning school administrator, a non-profit board member and a training facilitator. Her experience in building partnerships between citizens and schools will make her a tremendous resource person for local education foundations throughout the state.”

Jones fills the post vacated by longtime LEF Outreach Director Susan Paddack of Ada, who resigned in January to g ive her full attention to her new role as State Senator for District 13.

“It is an honor to have the opportunity to work with the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence,” Jones said. “I have great admiration for the leadership of (founder and chairman) David Boren, Emily Stratton and the foundation staff. I look forward to meeting and working with community leaders from around the state who care deeply about the success of their school systems and who have a shared vision of academic excellence for every student."

A graduate of Sayre High School, Jones earned her bachelor of science in education in 1976 from the University of Oklahoma and her master’s degree in educational administration in 1991 from Southwestern Oklahoma State University. She began her teaching career serving as a math and language arts teacher at Eisenhower Elementary in Norman, where she served from 1976 to 1981. For the next 10 years, she taught math and social studies at Elk City’s Grandview Fifth and Sixth Grade Center, where she was named Teacher of the Year in 1985. While in Elk City, Jones served as chairman of the Arts Council and helped launch the community’s local education foundation.

She returned to Norman in 1992, teaching sixth-grade math at Whittier Middle School. In 1993, she was named assistant principal of Truman Elementary School. In 1994, she became principal of Madison Elementary School and served there until her retirement in 2004. Jones was named District 7D Administrator of the Year in 2002. During her tenure at Madison, the school was honored as a National Distinguished Title I School and was recognized by the National PTA Council as a National Parent Involvement School. Recently, the school was recognized by the U.S. Department of Accountability for its ability to obtain high academic excellence and to maintain those standards over a number of years.

In addition to her post with the Foundation for Excellence, Jones continues to work with administrators and teachers throughout the state as an educational consultant. She has been honored by the Oklahoma Networks of Excellence with its award for Outstanding Achievement in Education, Leadership and Community-Building.

Jones is a member of Phi Delta Kappa, the Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development, the Cooperative Council of Oklahoma Administrators and the National Association of Principals. An active community volunteer, Jones serves on the boards of Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Cleveland County, the Norman Transition House and the K20 Center for Educational and Community Renewal. She is also a member of the Norman Sooner Rotary, where she is a Paul Harris Fellow.

Jones and her husband, Ray, have three grown children, Kathryn, Ryan and Josh.

In addition to its LEF Outreach Program, the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence provides $199,000 annually in Academic All-State Scholarships and Medal for Excellence Awards to outstanding students and educators, respectively, through its Academic Awards Program. Among its other initiatives, the foundation coordinates a program to send Oklahoma teachers to the Colonial Williamsburg Teacher Institute each summer and provides scholarships for schools to receive Colonial Williamsburg Electronic Field Trips, bringing history to life in the classroom.

The foundation also awards Teacher Scholarships for Professional Development and administers the Schusterman Mentor Program, which pairs Academic All-State alumni with underachieving elementary school students in Norman, Oklahoma City, Stillwater, Tulsa and Weatherford.

Brenda Wheelock,
OFE Communications Director
(405) 236-0006; e-mail