News and Events

OFE News Release


September 28, 2005
-- The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence has announced the addition of 11 new members to its Board of Trustees.

Appointed to serve three-year terms are: Lucy Barker, former educator and counselor, TULSA; Scott Briggs, director of human resources for The Oklahoman, OKLAHOMA CITY; Virginia G. Groendyke, community leader, ENID; Jean Hendrickson, executive director, Oklahoma A+ Schools, OKLAHOMA CITY; William C. Kellough, attorney with Boone Smith Davis Hurst & Dickman, TULSA; Linda P. Lambert, president, LASSO Corp., OKLAHOMA CITY; Judy Love, co-founder of Love’s Travel Stops & Country Stores, OKLAHOMA CITY; Connie Mashburn, interior designer, Mashburn Enterprise, OKLAHOMA CITY; Susan Paddack, majority whip and education committee chair, Oklahoma State Senate, ADA; Suzanne Simon, volunteer, Clinton Public Schools, CLINTON; Emily C. Wood, exchange coordinator, Eisenhower International Schools, TULSA.

The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence is a non-profit, charitable organization founded by former U.S. Sen. David L. Boren in 1985 to recognize and encourage academic excellence in Oklahoma’s public schools. The foundation’s Academic Awards Program provides more than $190,000 in scholarships and cash awards annually to honor outstanding public school students and educators. It provides technical support and training to local education foundations across the state and sponsors the annual Fall Forum for Local Education Foundations, held each October on the University of Oklahoma Norman campus.

Among its other initiatives, the Foundation for Excellence coordinates a program to send Oklahoma teachers to the Colonial Williamsburg Teacher Institute each summer and provides grants for schools to receive Colonial Williamsburg Electronic Field Trips, bringing history to life in the classroom.

The foundation also awards Teacher Scholarships for Professional Development and administers the Schusterman Mentor Program, which pairs Academic All-State alumni with at-risk elementary school students in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Stillwater, Norman and Weatherford.

(New trustees are listed below by hometown.)

ADA – Susan Paddack was elected in November as the state senator for District 13, which includes Pontotoc and Hughes counties and portions of Garvin and Coal counties. She serves as the majority whip and chair of the Education Committee and chair of the Select Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee. In addition, she serves on the Health and Human Services Committee, Education Appropriations Subcommittee, Finance Committee, and Agriculture and Rural Development Committee. Prior to her election, she served as the director of Local Education Foundation Outreach for the Foundation for Excellence.

CLINTON – Suzanne Simon is a volunteer with Clinton Public Schools and a former board member of the Clinton Public School Foundation.

ENID – Virginia G. Groendyke is active in the Enid community, serving as a member of the Enid Community Foundation and as a volunteer with the Enid Public School Foundation. In addition, she is a member of the board of directors for the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation.

OKLAHOMA CITY – Scott Briggs, director of human resources for The Oklahoman, is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association as well as the Society for Human Resource Management. He serves as an advisory board member for Oklahoma Goodwill Industries and is a board member for Oklahoma City Federal Thrift Credit Union.

Jean Hendrickson, executive director of Oklahoma A+ Schools, was the 2003 recipient of the Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Administration. Previously, she served as a principal in the Oklahoma City Public Schools district. She also serves as a board member for the Oklahoma Education Television Authority, DaVinci Institute and Harding Fine Arts Center. Recently, she was honored as Woman of the Year by High Noon Inc.

Linda P. Lambert is president of LASSO Corp. She is a member of the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association and Oklahoma Energy Resources Board. In addition, she serves as vice chairman of the Oklahoma City Public Schools Trust and chairman of the board for Mercy Health Center. She is also a member of the OG&E Board of Directors and serves on the Oklahoma City National Memorial Foundation.

Judy Love co-founded Love’s Travel Stops and Country Stores in 1964 and currently serves as corporate secretary for the company. An active civic leader, she serves as a board member for St. Anthony’s Foundation, SSM Health Care of Oklahoma, Oklahoma Museum of Art and Civic Center Foundation. She also serves on the Oklahoma City Community Foundation and is on the board of trustees for Oklahoma City University.

Connie Mashburn, an active civic leader, is an interior designer for Mashburn Enterprise. She is commissioner and vice chairman of the Oklahoma City Housing Authority and serves on the boards of the Oklahoma City Art Commission, Oklahoma City Beautiful and Allied Arts.

TULSA – Lucy Barker is a former educator and counselor who also served as head volunteer coordinator for Jenks Public Schools.

William C. Kellough is an attorney with Boone Smith Davis Hurst & Dickman. He is a member of the Oklahoma Bar Association and American Health Lawyers Association. In addition, he serves on the Tulsa City/County Library Commission and participated in Leadership Oklahoma.

Emily C. Wood, an exchange coordinator at Eisenhower International Schools, was the 1990 recipient of the Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Elementary Teaching. She is a member of the United Nations Association of Eastern Oklahoma and the Tulsa Global Alliance.