News and Events

OFE News Release


September 28, 2005
-- Stewart Ryan, associate professor of physics at the University of Oklahoma in NORMAN, has been named Volunteer of the Year by the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence.

The foundation is a non-profit, charitable organization that recognizes and encourages academic excellence in Oklahoma's public schools. Since receiving the foundation’s Medal for Excellence in College and University Teaching in 1989, Ryan has been an active volunteer, serving on numerous committees and assisting with many foundation-sponsored events.

Ryan was recognized by Foundation for Excellence President Bert Mackie during the foundation’s Board of Trustees meeting earlier this month in Oklahoma City.

“It is a pleasure honoring a dedicated volunteer such as Stu Ryan. He has been a willing and tireless volunteer who has helped us accomplish a variety of projects and tasks,” said Executive Director Emily Stratton. “For more than 15 years, he has demonstrated his belief in the foundation’s mission of encouraging academic excellence and has continued to support our efforts to enhance recognition programs for students and educators.”

Ryan, who serves on the Fall Forum committee, planned and helped implement the teacher track at the annual event and continues to serve as a key moderator. In addition to serving on the Fall Forum committee, Ryan also volunteers on the foundation’s Local Education Foundation Outreach committee and the Teacher Scholarship Selection committee. He currently serves as liaison for the Circle for Excellence of award-winning educators and as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

As an associate professor of physics at OU, Ryan is focusing on the use of video techniques to enhance physics instruction. He is also actively involved in developing new techniques and instrumentation for use in fields such as materials characterization, non-destructive testing and energy conservation.